PDA

View Full Version : How to start building credit

Hoopster81
05-02-2005, 04:08 PM
I am a young student and my credit is zero. I do have a checking account. Any recommendations on getting started? I have read department store cards might be a good option. Has anyone else recently been in this situation? Thanks.

Dead
05-02-2005, 04:10 PM
Have your parents co-sign for one.

I don't understand why you haven't gotten offers already.

The moment I walked onto campus as a freshman, I was inundated with credit card offers. I didn't have credit either. I have a card right now, and I only use it for emergencies.

chaas4747
05-02-2005, 04:10 PM
Search OOT is your friend. Tons of post on this.

Rick Diesel
05-02-2005, 04:14 PM
Get a credit card. Use it ONLY to pay for gas that you purchase. Pay it off in FULL every month. This will save you the hassle of walking inside and paying for gas. Also it will help you build some credit. If you don't have a car, you don't need a credit card, or credit for that matter.

DBowling
05-02-2005, 04:19 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Get a credit card. Use it ONLY to pay for gas that you purchase. Pay it off in FULL every month. This will save you the hassle of walking inside and paying for gas. Also it will help you build some credit. If you don't have a car, you don't need a credit card, or credit for that matter.

[/ QUOTE ]
dont you end up paying more for gas this way?
the way i did it, was to put my cell phone bill on autopay with my credit card, and just pay that off every month.

shadow29
05-02-2005, 04:21 PM
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]
dont you end up paying more for gas this way?
the way i did it, was to put my cell phone bill on autopay with my credit card, and just pay that off every month.

[/ QUOTE ]

this is what i do

meep_42
05-02-2005, 04:26 PM
Not in civilization. :P