PDA

View Full Version : Riding a motorbike q.

partygirluk
04-30-2005, 02:35 PM
I've never learnt, mainly because I live at home and my mum would go nuts. Also, it rains a lot over here, and biking in the rain does not sound like fun.

Well now I want to go to California to study, so those two problems ease. A bike seems to offer a number of advantages such as

i) Cheaper than a car
ii) Can cut through traffic jams
iii) Takes up less space that a car

However, I know basically nothing about motorbikes. So, any info is appreciated. A couple of specific questions

i) How much do they cost in terms of petrol/mile compared to the equivalent in a car?
ii) How difficult is it to learn and get a licence (I am a good driver)?

Thanks,

Dean

MelchyBeau
04-30-2005, 03:19 PM
what do you call a biker in ER?

Organ Donor.

Melch

Corey
04-30-2005, 03:52 PM
I don't have an answer to your questions, but a motorcycle has one more thing going for it, as a college student: You'll likely get better and cheaper on-campus parking.

astroglide
04-30-2005, 11:29 PM
weaving between cars or riding on the shoulder is a good way to get pulled over or clipped with an angry car door in some places

rusty JEDI
05-01-2005, 02:42 AM
i) How much do they cost in terms of petrol/mile compared to the equivalent in a car?

If you are getting a bike because you think it is cheaper than a car you are most likely very wrong. If you are getting a bike from the 80's or some 250 non sport bike then ignore the rest, but if you are getting a real bike then read on.

Yes gas is cheaper, by a little more than half.