PDA

View Full Version : trying to understand tournament equity on decisions after the flop

SeriousStudent
04-28-2005, 08:37 PM
First of all, thanks to all on the site who have explained bubble play, icm, and the like. Once I became a believer and changed my play, my number of 1st and 2nds on the 100+9 have gone way up, and 4th and 5th gone way down.

Now I know icm doesn't explicitly consider post flop play ( or does it?), but I ran the numbers to see what move gave the best approach. I'm new to hand converters, and no matter what I tried I couldn't get the right output out of bison, so I went to text output and hand edited it.

Possibly I should have gone all in preflop, but the move I analyzed is whether to go all in after the flop, or trap. In the actual hand, I decided to trap the bigger stack.

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t200 (7 handed) converter

Hero (t1005)
CO (t740)
Button (t3351)
SB (t2744)
BB (t910)
UTG (t930)
MP1 (t320)

Preflop: Hero is MP2 with Kh, Kc.
2 folds, Hero raises to t400, 1 fold, Button calls t400, 2 folds.

Flop: (t1100) Td, 4d, 7c (2 players)
Hero checks, Button raises t700, Hero calls t605

Final Pot: t2310

My equity before the hand - $11.60

AI first to act by me after the flop case:

Let’s assume it results in a fold by my opponent 60% of the time and a call 40% of the time that I win 50% of the time.

So my equity is zero 20% of the time and I win net 700 chips

My equity is $17.88 if I win, time 0.8 =$14.30

Check to trap case:

Let’s assume it results in a bet 100% of the time that I win 65% of the time

Equity zero 35% of the time and $22.22 when I win, for a net of $14.44

Preflop all in case:

Assume called only 20% of the time, and win 70% of the time I am called.

My equity is $14.60 80% of the time with no callers, $22.22 with a button caller and I win 14% of the time, and 0 6% of the time for a net equity of $14.79,.

So my questions