PDA

View Full Version : i suck at poker, please flame me

liucipher
04-28-2005, 12:46 AM
I just started playing $11s and have played 11 with one 3rd place finish, on average placing 5th and losing in level 5 of blinds. I have officially kissed goodbye to 1/4 of the bankroll I built on the $6s.

Tiny sample size my ass, I take this as proof that I suck at poker and should never again be allowed near a deck of cards (virtual or real) or anything involving a random number generator.

Somebody please explain to me the concept of push w/ any two and/or stealing and/or how to not suck at poker. No matter how many posts I read, I CANNOT for the life of me get past the bubble. I get pickpocketed and blinded out of existence and then am forced to push for 3X BB w/ Kxo. I wish I was a monkey because I think a monkey would have a better ITM% than me.

dfscott
04-28-2005, 01:06 AM
I understand your frustration. I struggled for a long time before it finally clicked. All I can suggest is to post a few bubble hands. Include ones you pushed as well as ones you folded that you thought were marginal.

You are in the right place to learn -- you just need to do your homework. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

Edit: I'm not expert, but if you want to send me a couple of complete tourneys, I'll be happy to give you my take on 'em. A couple of posters here did the same for me and it really helped me out, so the least I can do is return the favor for someone else.

tjh
04-28-2005, 02:38 AM
I am playing the 11's at Ultimate Bet and mixing in the 20's as my bankroll allows (note that UB is a different game than party). So far it looks like I may move up to the 20's. I learned by reading these folks posts. You can do the same.

It isn't push with any two all the time any time. Take advantage of opportunity is how I put it. If it is folded to you and you have enough chips to chase someone off the blinds then chase em.