PDA

View Full Version : Harv's Pooh-Bah post (this thread will actually make you dumber)

Harv72b
04-27-2005, 11:08 PM
It is at 1600 posts, right? 'Cause otherwise I'm gonna feel like a total dumbass in a minute. /images/graemlins/grin.gif

There are a lot of things that I'd like to touch on right now. Pamela Anderson is one. And, yes, Mischa Barton is another. Luckily, I have two hands and so there's no need to make a difficult decision.

But, slightly more seriously, I wanted to use this thread to come out of the poker closet. Yes, that's right--I prefer pocket queens. Wait, no...pocket rockets. Damn, all the good hands are gay innuendos, aren't they? Big Slick? Better just get to the point...

I'm a noob. Really; I'd never played a single hand of Texas Hold'Em before last September, and only rarely played poker at all (even then, just in drunken penny-ante home games). I watched the 2003 WSOP on ESPN, kinda dug it, watched again in 2004, and one night decided to give it a shot on the internet. I opened up a play money account on Pacific, did all the standard donk things like cold-calling with any A and thinking "well, it's only got a 2 kicker, but a J is a pretty good card". Luckily, it was play money & so everyone else was in the same boat.

Then, I went out and bought two books on poker, deciding that I was going to learn how to play for real. One of them was Phil Hellmuth's "Play Poker Like the Pros". Despite that, I'm here today. /images/graemlins/wink.gif The other was Matthew Hilger's "Internet Texas Hold'Em", and that actually did teach me to play a decent game. But since the other dolts on the play money tables weren't, I couldn't gauge how I was doing. So I opened a real money account with $20.