PDA

View Full Version : Austria / ultra loose games / hints for beginner

RegBarclay
11-14-2002, 09:53 PM
Hi guys,

I am pretty new to poker and was hoping you could help me with some questions I have.

To give you a background: I read and understood 7csfap and have already ordered Theory of Poker. I live in Austria.

Do any of you play/ed in Austria and could give me some hints?
Due to a very limited BR and to give me some more practice I plan to start with EUR 3-6 seven card stud which is played 24/7 all over Vienna.
These games are more than loose and I rarely see players fold on third and/or even fifth street (have watched games in different joints). I doubt that any of the players in these games ever read a book on 7cs. It seems to me that the section on loose games in 7csfap does not apply here as it is almost impossible to get people to fold or even think about getting heads-up when I want to. How should I adjust my game to these conditions? Is there any further reading you can suggest?
If you do play in Autria and are willing to give me some up-to-date information, it would be greatly appreciated (as well as all other replies are).

Regards,
RegBarclay

Andy B
11-15-2002, 10:02 PM
I've never been to Europe, but I've played some $3/6 stud in my day. /forums/images/icons/smile.gif My game has a $.50 ante, a $1 bring-in, and an obscene rake. I'm sure that your game has the obscene rake at the least, but are the ante and force the same?

I do think that the loose games section of 7CS4AP is applicable to games like you describe. OK, so waiting until fifth street to raise to knock people out won't work because people won't fold to that raise either. Fine. Don't raise for that reason. Just realize that you're going to have to show down the best hand to win. You are describing one of the most profitable games there is, but you do have to make some strategy adjustments to optimize your results.