PDA

View Full Version : Win rate stated in terms of Buy-ins/100 vs. bb/100

O Doyle Rules
04-26-2005, 02:06 PM
I am a noob at this NL stuff and this might have been discussed before, but would'nt it make more sense to state one's win rate in terms of buy-ins won per 100 hands than big bets?

Big bets in NL poker does not seem material to me in discussing your win rate.

For example, instead of saying I win 12.5 bb/100 at the
$ 50 buy-in level, one would state their win rate to be .25 buy-in/100.

I know this is splitting hairs, but it just seems more logical to me.

Ghazban
04-26-2005, 02:19 PM
You will find this doesn't work if you ever play in an uncapped buyin game. Buyins are also not standard across all online sites for a given blind level.

O Doyle Rules
04-26-2005, 02:25 PM
[ QUOTE ]
You will find this doesn't work if you ever play in an uncapped buyin game.

[/ QUOTE ]

This I understand. (However, I don't think I will be playing in any uncapped buyin games in the near future, not unless I know I am the favorite and I can bring the most money to the table.)

O Doyle Rules
04-26-2005, 02:37 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Buyins are also not standard across all online sites for a given blind level.

[/ QUOTE ]

Am I missing something here or does'nt this make the arguement why one's win rate should be stated in terms of buy-ins since blind structures and buyins are not consistent?

Lets say there are two different games, both with $ 50 buy-ins, one has blinds of .25/.50 and the other .50/1.00. Going back to my original premise I would be a 12.5bb/100 in the first game, but only a 6.25 bb/100 winner in the second game. Would'nt it be more descriptive to say I am a .25 buy-in/100 winner in both games?

Ghazban
04-26-2005, 04:21 PM