PDA

View Full Version : Thieving on the flop

Guy McSucker
04-26-2005, 07:28 AM
I have tried to up the frequency with which I lead at flops that could well have missed everyone. How is this one?

Party 10/20. I am new to the table and readless.

T9o in the BB. UTG calls. MP calls. SB folds. I check.

Flop: Q 4 4, two spades. I have no spades.

I bet, UTG folds, MP raises.

1) Was this a good flop to lead at?
2) Should I just give up and fold now?
3) Should I be more or less likely to make these plays when I am new and presumably unknown to the table?

Thanks as ever,

Guy.

Lmn55d
04-26-2005, 07:38 AM
This one might be close EV-wise, but I wouldn't bet it against two opponents (I would against one for sure). Someone could have a flushdraw or ace with backdoor flush draw etc. It looks slightly more believable when you bet into two people than when you bet into one, but you will still get called or raised by ace high etc. fairly often. Note that K44 and A44 are better flops to bluff at because less overcards can stay in. A44 I think a bet would be +EV for sure. You should definitely fold when raised. As for your third question, it depends on your image really. For me, for example, I usually am very aggressive and bet and semibluff quite often. So, when opponents see me do this, I will get played with more often in these situations. So for me, making a play like this would be more likely to work in the beginning of the session when I haven't developed the image that I usually tend to develop.

TheCaptain
04-26-2005, 07:40 AM
[ QUOTE ]

1) Was this a good flop to lead at?

[/ QUOTE ]

Not really, people will peel one off here.

[ QUOTE ]

2) Should I just give up and fold now?

[/ QUOTE ]

yes

[ QUOTE ]

3) Should I be more or less likely to make these plays when I am new and presumably unknown to the table?

[/ QUOTE ]
Less likely, why chip spew when you can make the same play with some confidence after 2 orbits?

MHarris
04-26-2005, 08:45 AM