PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and question about pot equity.

BoxLiquid
04-24-2005, 06:27 AM
Hi, I'm new here to 2+2 forums. It's great to know Greg Raymer was a frequent visitor here. I guess that means there was a lot of knowledgable folks here to help him. Anyways, I am pretty new to poker it has been maybe a month and a half since i've played Texas Hold'em. I bought the book SSHE by Ed Miller and in it he talks about pot equity. Does anyone here have a very strong grasp of this concept? I just can't figure out how the hell pot equity is really relevant. Anyone with good teaching abilities please help me understand pot equity and how it's so important to poker.
Thanks in advance and nice to meet everyone here. /images/graemlins/wink.gif

TStoneMBD
04-24-2005, 06:42 AM
pot equity? its kind of a vague term without putting into context as it can be used in alot of different ways.

however, pot equity basically just means that if the pot is currently $300, and you have a hand that has a 10% chance of drawing out to the best hand on the river, then your pot equity is $30. ($300 x .10)

BoxLiquid
04-24-2005, 06:52 AM
thanks Tstone for the very quick response. I understand how to calculate pot equity since it gives an example in the book but I just don't see how it's <font color="green"> important </font>. In the book SSHE it says you shouldn't fight for a pot if the pot equity is too small for your draw or whatever. I don't get that. Shouldn't you fight for all pots as long as your pot odds (and implied odds) are correct?

Nicmavsfan28
04-24-2005, 07:59 AM