PDA

View Full Version : New to NL

chopchoi
04-22-2005, 10:47 AM
I usually play limit, but yesterday I decided to try NL for a change. I have some NL experience in tourneys, but have not played many cash games.

I quickly found myself in a perplexing situation. I raised $3.50 from MP with AQo. Button called.

Flop was A, J, rag. I bet $10 into the $8.50 pot. Button calls.

Turn is a ten. I...

BirdieLongSocks
04-22-2005, 11:05 AM
I cant see how you are in the lead right now, maybee A9 but outherwise he has you beat.

Was there a flushdraw? I would check this turn and fold to a bet as I cant see any hand except some funky draw that you have beat. Fire out 1/3 of the pot on the river and fold to raise/push if he checks behind.

swolfe
04-22-2005, 11:08 AM
we need more info. stacks? blinds? i'm figuring this is the $100 tables based on your PF raise...

bet $20 and fold to the raise

chopchoi
04-22-2005, 01:59 PM
[ QUOTE ]
we need more info. stacks? blinds? i'm figuring this is the $100 tables based on your PF raise...

bet $20 and fold to the raise

[/ QUOTE ]

Yes, this was Bodog $100 NL. Blinds .50/$1. We each had ninety something dollars in our stacks.

Tuben
04-22-2005, 02:23 PM
First you overbet the pot and he called. Ypu are proble beat. He might have AK ocr aj maybe trips. J

Dont bet that much . I would bet lite more the half the pot here.

chopchoi
04-22-2005, 02:29 PM
Thanks. Now for part 2.

I bet $15 on the turn and he calls. The river is a rag. I'm not really sure about my hand, but then again, he hasn't been playing back at me, so maybe he isn't either. I think if I check it to him, he might check as well, and we can show it down cheaply.

I check, he bets $25. I...

kamjah
04-22-2005, 02:38 PM
id say if you don't think hes been slowplaying a monster, throw out a blocking bet on the river so he doesnt assume your showing weakness. but this seems rough seeing as youve already commited quite a bit to the pot.

kurto
04-22-2005, 02:55 PM
[ QUOTE ]