PDA

View Full Version : How to become an online reseller?

HC5831
04-22-2005, 01:49 AM
I'm interested in buying some computer goods at a discount and selling them on ebay for a profit. I would like to do some research on all the things I should look into before I start this. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

I have the discounts locked up through an employee discount, so making money is not the issue. I'm more interested in details. ie insuring items, requiring a signature, using paypal, warranties, legality etc.

HC

Gin 'n Tonic
04-22-2005, 05:37 AM
I am a full-time eBay trader – i.e. it’s what I do for a living – Poker income not withstanding. With the small caveat that I’m working from the UK, I’ll give you a few pointers.

1) Research your market – computer goods are one of the most over subscribed areas on eBay. Typically stuff is selling at a large discount to retail and there are a lot of unsolds, so make sure that the discount that you are getting is sufficient to overcome this. The computer / mobile phone sector seems to be crammed with people working on tiny, tiny margins. Check what’s selling and how much it’s going for. Also remember that it’s a very fast moving market, so you don’t want to be holding stock that’s devaluing rapidly.
2) Give clear, thorough, extensive, descriptions – unless you want to answer 500 emails a week, all asking the same questions.
3) PayPal is an excellent service, there are very few problems that I’ve encountered and I would recommend it. It is, however, relatively expensive.
4) Turbolister is an excellent tool for any volume selling.
5) If you know any HTML, design your own auction page – it always adds respectability if you have a nice looking page that isn’t one of eBay’s generic offerings or plain text. Make sure that any page that you design looks OK on all browsers.