PDA

View Full Version : Some questions re. posgrad study in America

partygirluk
04-19-2005, 08:28 PM
I have a BSC in Mathematical Economics from the U.K. I want to do postgrad starting in '06 with the strong possibility of eventually acquiring a PhD.

I would like to do my PhD in the States or Canada as they have the best universities and I'd like to experience a different culture + the weather will be better.

I would prefer to do my masters there as well. However, a Masters in the UK is heavily subsidised (for its citizens) whilst the U.S universities seem prohibitively expensive. I am certainly prepared to pay more $ to go to a top U.S. uni, but not $30k a year in tuition fees alone. What is the best way to get this price down. I am really ignorant about how the U.S. system works, be it endowments, scholarships, government funding, whatever.

Finally, I was told by my Canadian lecturer that U.S. universities don't respect U.K Masters qualifications. I got offered a Masters at Cambridge for 04/05 but turned it down, partly for this reason (it was a 1 yr course btw). Other people tell me that if you have a degree from Oxford or Cambridge it will be a massive boon to your chances of succeeding in the States. What is the truth?

Thanks for your help,

Dean

KJS
04-19-2005, 08:44 PM
Regarding the first part of your question:

If you are a good student, you should be able to get a master's degree at no charge. Most schools use their grad students as cheap teaching labor, so you will be asked to teach entry level classes in exchange for free tuition and a stipend. I did it and got a master's at no cost to me. Find schools you are interested in and look for their qualifications for Teaching Assistantships.