PDA

View Full Version : Sunglasses

TBolt76
11-03-2002, 05:09 AM
I hear lots of people talking about sunglasses. That there is no really good applciations for it. That people only wear it because its a fad. Others say that it is used to sheild your eyes from your opponents and eliminate tells. And that others may use your eyes as to gather information to your hand.

What is everyone's opinion on the wearing of sunglasses?
Is it actually useful to wear sunglasses regularly or is it all just a fad like some have said it is.

I have my own thoughts on it and I am just wondering what if anything it does for you at the poker table.

Pro's and con's please, if there is any?

Thanks.

Tbolt76

bomblade
11-03-2002, 05:44 AM
I wear sunglasses usually. One reason, is the lights get to me after a while. Another is that I'm tired and again, the lights. But it does eliminate some tells. I mostly like that the other players don't know I'm studying them. They can fool around as much as they want, and don't even know what I've picked up on.
I do think a lot of people wear them for fad reasons. To look the part. I think part of it is also image.

brad
11-03-2002, 07:08 AM
i think a lot of it is that you dont feel youre (able to) be watched and studied so you kinda relax maybe.

even if a guy sits and stares at you i think that will elicit more tells if youre not wearing sunglasses because then you make eye contact.

thebroker
11-03-2002, 07:47 AM
I play mostly in home games. I feel as one the best players in those games I give off less in my eyes than they do. Therefore I don't wear them because I don't want to give them any ideas.

riffraff
11-03-2002, 08:48 AM