PDA

View Full Version : What does standard deviation really mean?

Fitz
11-03-2002, 12:51 AM
I have been tracking my play faithfully for the last 6 months. I have played appoximately 850 hours(over 110,000 hands online). My win rate is about $4.75 an hour(This is mostly at 1/2 and 2/4). I have moved up in limits as my bankroll has allowed; I now play some 3/6 and even test the waters at 5/10. I just computed my standard deviation at $101.82(That is using each of my 204 sessions as a data point).

I'm not really a statistics guy, so what does this standard deviation mean? How can I use this number to analyze my play? Any other stats advice is appreciated.

Thanks,

BruceZ
11-03-2002, 02:30 AM
Standard deviation is a measure of how much your results vary from the average. Your average hourly rate will be within 1 standard deviation of your true hourly rate with a probability of 68%, within 2 standard deviations with probability 95.4, and within 3 standard deviations with probability 99.7%. Use a table of the standard normal distribution to find other percentages. You will be 1 standard deviation below avererage with probabability 16%, 2 standard deviations below average with proability 2.3%, and 3 standard deviations below average 0.13%. Use these same percentages for being above the average. This will give you some level of confidence in what your true average rate is.

Your standard deviation seems too high. It should be somewhere around 10 times your hourly rate, lower if you play tight, and perhaps higher if you play in loose aggressive games or shorthanded games. You may want to track it separately for different limits.