PDA

View Full Version : AJ in small stakes limit

edgmatt
04-15-2005, 03:12 AM
Im new at playing limit, I understand the basics. I had AJo under the gun playing .50 1.00 limit, I raised. Next 2 guys fold, then a re-raise, fold, another re-raise, fold, fold, fold back to me. I folded. First guy was LAP, Second guy was TAA. DID I DO THE RIGHT THING???

shant
04-15-2005, 03:25 AM
Yes.

Demana
04-15-2005, 03:33 AM
AJo is one of the hardest hands to play. Only better hands will call or raise you. You're better off limping in or if you are not sure of your postflop skills, folding preflop. It'll save you money till you're better able to play the hand.

Nick Royale
04-15-2005, 04:16 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Only better hands will call or raise you.

[/ QUOTE ]
Are you playing 15/30? This ain't the least bit true for .0-1.

[ QUOTE ]
You're better off limping in or if you are not sure of your postflop skills, folding preflop.

[/ QUOTE ]
Agree.

synthtrance
04-15-2005, 04:44 AM
[ QUOTE ]
AJo is one of the hardest hands to play. Only better hands will call or raise you. You're better off limping in or if you are not sure of your postflop skills, folding preflop. It'll save you money till you're better able to play the hand.

[/ QUOTE ]

On folding this preflop in ep, you say you need some postflop skills. Would you be able to expand on that? Just want to know if I can play AJo properly.

HajiShirazu
04-15-2005, 06:36 AM
Playing AJ is just like AK after the flop, except you have to fold more flops because you don't always have two overcards, and occasionally you flop pairs other than top pair.

w_alloy
04-15-2005, 06:42 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Im new at playing limit, I understand the basics. I had AJo under the gun playing .50 1.00 limit, I raised. Next 2 guys fold, then a re-raise, fold, another re-raise, fold, fold, fold back to me. I folded. First guy was LAP, Second guy was TAA. DID I DO THE RIGHT THING???

[/ QUOTE ]

Exact same way I would have played it.