PDA

View Full Version : My first Stud post

JTG51
11-01-2002, 02:31 AM
I'm brand new to 7CS. I mean, brand spanking new. I've played a couple of hours in my life. I've read about half of Roy West's book, and read this forum for the last few weeks. That's the extent of my experience. I'd love to hear some thoughts about this hand. It was on a .50/1 Paradise table. No ante, .25 bring in.

The third street hands look like:

3s
8h
(7d Jd) Ad <---- ME
Tc
7s
9d
7h

3s brings it in, 8h folds. I raise. Tc calls and everyone else folds. 3s calls.

On 4th:

RHO: 3s 4d
ME: (7d Jd) Ad 2d
LHO: Tc Jh

I bet and get called by both.

Onto 5th street:

RHO: 3s 4d 3d
ME: (7d Jd) Ad 2d 2c
LHO: Tc Jh 7c

RHO bets, I call as does LHO.

6th street:

RHO: 3s 4d 3d Ts
ME: (7d Jd) Ad 2d 2c 8d
LHO: Tc Jh 7c 4s

RHO bets, I raise, LHO calls, RHO calls.

On 7th, RHO checks to me, I bet, and both call.

Any thoughts? Thanks for the help.

deadbart
11-01-2002, 03:38 AM
Well played.

In a micro limit game where there is no ante and yet I have to assume the game is fairly loose, I have to wonder whether the raise on third is worthwhile. How often can you steal the antes or set up a steal later at this limit? At higher limits with an ante I think the raise is pretty much automatic.

I like your other decisions.

JTG51
11-01-2002, 04:22 AM
deadbart, I think you are most likely correct. It seems to me that steal raises go way down in value in games with no ante. I don't plan on spending much time at this limit though, just a few hours to get a little feel for the game. Then I'll move way up to 1/2 /forums/images/icons/smile.gif and try to really learn the game better. I don't see much point in getting too used to playing without any ante.

Mason Malmuth
11-01-2002, 04:37 AM
Your raise on third street makes no sense. If successful, you win 25 cents with a hand that you would like players. In a bigger game with a substantial ante, a raise or reraise could be mandatory.

MM

11-01-2002, 09:49 AM