PDA

View Full Version : My First Year as an Underage Poker Player (Long)

Ogre
04-13-2005, 01:33 AM
My First Year as an Underage Poker Player

By Ogre

I started playing poker when I was pretty young. I remember playing dime quarter home games with my brother and friends. We played games like 5 card draw, Guts and In-Between. As I grew up I played poker less and less. My brother Dave (NLSoldier) started playing poker at school when I was in 5th grade. I didn't really care for it because nobody my age played. When he started playing online poker when I was about 12 or 13. He started out playing on an older friend’s account on paradise because he was underage as well. He eventually busted out and I again forgot about poker. A few months later Dave deposited for the second time, only it was on Party this time and that $50 deposit would prove to be all he needed. I watched him play 2/4 full for hours and I began to learn the game, I was about 13. At the end of 8th grade I would joke around with him about taking a shot at the Party $.5/1 game. He would always tell me that I wouldn’t be able to handle the suckouts with 5 players calling me down to the river every hand. I was 14 almost 15 when one night at the beginning of May Dave was leaving the house after putting in a session at 2/4. I told him half joking that I was going to play some $.5/1 while he was gone. He must have had a good session that night because he said, "Fine, just don't lose more then $10."