PDA

View Full Version : How much experience do you need for multi tabling?

Wozza
04-12-2005, 11:05 PM
Absolute newbie here. Only playing funny money at the mo', but I'm ploughing through my Lee Jones and Sklansky books and look to start micro in 3 or 4 weeks.

My question is, how much experience do you need before you move up to multi tabling? At the moment, it seems inconceivable to me to even play 2 at a time. I tried it a couple of nights ago on two separate sites and could barely concentrate on obe table, let alone 2.

I'm reading that I should be counting my outs, working out my odds of filling a hand, checking the pot odds and pot equity etc et-freaking-cetera. How in God's name people manage to do this on more that two I don't know.

Is it possible, with experience, to do all that on 4 (or 8!) tables? Or are people just playing super tight and only playing the very top hands?

coinflip
04-12-2005, 11:34 PM
It's probably not a bad idea to start off just single-tabling.

Once you've done that for a while, you'll notice that with a typical vpip, you're only playing maybe 1 in 4 hands, counting the blinds. Even the hands that you do play, you'll often fold on an unfavorable flop. So most of the time at each table, you'll be idle.

As you add more tables, your likelihood of playing multiple hands simultaneously is still low, but the amount of time you spend playing some hand on one of your tables increases. Obviously if you play enough tables, you'll start playing multiple hands simultaneously more often.

There tends to be a tradeoff on developing good reads on people and playing more tables. After some point it becomes largely a matter of individual taste, your goals, and comfort level.

Pov
04-12-2005, 11:58 PM