PDA

View Full Version : Deep stacked QQ, please comment

Fianchetto
04-11-2005, 12:08 PM
$200 Max buy in B&M NL game. Blinds $2-$2-$3.

I've played with the UTG player in this hand only a little bit, to me he seems too loose aggressive, but others consider him to be a good player. He is fairly experienced, i.e. he has probably been playing hold'em for a long time.

I haven't been at the table long, I've basically played one big hand where I doubled up after flopping a set with KK.

UTG ($600) limps, UTG+1($150) makes it $20, folded to me in LMP ($480) and I make it $40 with Q /images/graemlins/spade.gif Q /images/graemlins/club.gif

Folded to UTG who calls, UTG+1 calls.

3 players ($120)

Flop: J /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 3 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 3 /images/graemlins/club.gif

check, check, I bet $100, UTG moves all-in, UTG+1 folds, Your action?

I'm still new to no limit, but here are some of my thoughts:

I had a hard time putting UTG on a hand. Could he have called $40 preflop with a 3 in his hand? I doubt it, A3s would be the only somewhat reasonable hand. Pocket jacks probably would have raised prelfop. AJ is a possibility; a diamond draw? It should be pretty obvious that I have an overpair, right? So is he trying to muscle me out, or does he want to get called. And if he has a moster why would he shut out the UTG+1 player....

Anyway, what else should I factor in this decision, and what would you do?

Results to follow.

edge
04-11-2005, 12:16 PM
I call. A trey is not too likely, for the same reasons you put down. JJ, KK, AA beat you in that case, but would he limp-coldcall with those? A loose-aggressive player probably wouldn't. I think you're only behind to A3s, and since he's aggressive, you have him beat more times than not.

Allinlife
04-11-2005, 12:19 PM
you should raise at least 3 times the original raise and make it 60 to go preflop.