PDA

View Full Version : $10+1: Two shorties on the bubble, and I'm one of 'em

spentrent
04-11-2005, 04:27 AM
Next hand will be the last at this level.

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t200 (4 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

SB (t4235)
BB (t1875)
Hero (t980)
Button (t910)

Preflop: Hero is UTG with 2/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 8/images/graemlins/diamond.gif.

I'm thinking push, but with Button about to eat the 300 blind I reconsidered. Good? Bad? Why?

johnny005
04-11-2005, 04:32 AM
I think I would wait for this one.. IMOA the BB, Sb are more likely to call since they are both sitting on large stacks. I might wait to see what happens to the Button on the nect few hands and im sure you will get a better hand than 8-2s? Thats just my 2 cents I'm no expert though

aveadams
04-11-2005, 04:40 AM
[ QUOTE ]
I think I would wait for this one.. IMOA the BB, Sb are more likely to call since they are both sitting on large stacks. I might wait to see what happens to the Button on the nect few hands and im sure you will get a better hand than 8-2s? Thats just my 2 cents I'm no expert though

[/ QUOTE ]
Agreed. Wait a hand, see if the other shortie busts. Any hand you catch will be at least equal value to 28s. Don't push here.

spentrent
04-11-2005, 04:47 AM
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

I'm thinking that BB still has to have a decent hand to call. My bet gives him a 1.6 to 1 (1280 to 780) so it's not an easy math call with any two.

The quality of my hand isn't the issue for me, but maybe it should be? My concern is more about the merits of exploiting fold equity versus blinding away with the other shorty in the name of surviving to the money.

lutefisk
04-11-2005, 04:53 AM
I think the quality of the hand is important. Also, I don't think everyone you play against gives the analysis to odds etc. that many of us do.