PDA

View Full Version : double pair?

johnny005
04-10-2005, 05:58 PM
hi im fairly new to omaha/8 and wondering if it is profitable to play a double pair hand in late position, fold these hands right away if they dont hit a set

chaos
04-10-2005, 09:41 PM
If you are dealt two pair and one of the pair is AA and one or both of the Aces are suited up I would consider playing the hand.

The only other two-pair hands that I would consider playing contain two big pairs with at least one of them suited up. The smaller the larger pair the less value being suited has. (KKTTs is a lot better hand than JJTTs) You do not want to play a big two pair hand out of position. You want to play these hands cheaply against a bunch of players.

Buzz
04-11-2005, 12:47 AM
Johnny - Depends, in my humble opinion, on the double pair, and on their suitedness. (I really don't like rainbow hands much in this game).

A pair of aces and a pair of anything else seems playable, if at least single suited. If not suited, it depends.

KKQQ, KKJJ, KKTT, QQJJ, QQTT, and JJTT, in that order, also seem playable if at least single suited. If non-suited, I think you'll do better if you fold them before the flop, even KKQQn.

And that's it. No other double paired hands are playable, in my humble opinion. Blind play, of course, may involve different considerations.

Well... maybe you can play 2233 in position if at least single suited in some games and if double suited in some other games. But you need to recognize that 2233s and 2233d hands are sub-marginal hands and are also possible trap hands that can be tricky to play.

What about KK99-double-suited, the next hand in line, if on the button in a loose, passive game? Tempting. I'm not honestly sure I could resist.

What about KK99-single-suited or QQ99-double-suited? Well... those are tempting too. There's no sharp drop-off. The double paired hands just gradually get worse as the pairs get lower and the suitedness goes from double to single to non.