PDA

View Full Version : Free card play?

mcr
10-28-2002, 02:57 AM
Hello everyone, I'm new to big-bet poker... hope that if this question is not too elementary for this board. Can any of you offer me advice on how you play flush draws and open-ended straight draws in hold 'em? In structured-limit, you can raise on the flop to try to get a free card. Does it make sense to do the same in big-bet poker, when a raise is more expensive, and exposes you to a huge reraise?

Bob Ciaffone recommends pushing all-in when you flop the nut-flush draw, trying to buy the pot. (For deception, you're supposed to do the same occasionally when you flop a set on a 2-suited board.) I'm afraid to make this play at the online tables I play at, because I'm too afraid that someone with 2 pair won't respect me and call. Am I chicken? /forums/images/icons/wink.gif Let me know what you think... thanks!

10-28-2002, 05:04 AM
Pushing All In -
I dont agree with this advice, offcourse your stack size compared to the money in the pot might make u lean towards making this sort of play. If you had say $15 and the pot is $8 and your opponent bets $4 then you could push all in with your nut flush draw. Suppose you have $50 and the pot is $3 you should never move all in with your draw because only a better hand such as two pair or a set will call especially online i have seen many players call with these type of hands and hands such as top pair with medium kicker.

You should be watching your opponents style of play, does he usually fold to raises. Is he an analytical player who considers information about his opponents before folding and also consider your table image are you known as a tight player or a loose aggressor.
How I play draws? I like to raise them in shorthanded 2-3 player pots and especially in headsup pots. Otherwise if the odds permit me drawing i call and hopefully hit the flush. If you have any other questions dont hesitate to ask.
-MJ

10-28-2002, 11:27 AM