PDA

View Full Version : This fold may seem weak... but is it sensible?

ryanghall
04-09-2005, 12:35 PM
Party 100 NL.

I get K /images/graemlins/club.gif 4 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif in the BB.

All fold to the SB (34/4), who completes. I check.

Flop (2 players) ($2) is:

4 /images/graemlins/spade.gif 2 /images/graemlins/spade.gif 7 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif

He checks, I bet $2, he calls.

Turn (2 players) (about $6)

Q /images/graemlins/spade.gif

He checks, I check.

River (2 players, $6)

K /images/graemlins/diamond.gif

He bets $15, I fold.

I am pretty sure he has the flush here. How about you?

zaxx19
04-09-2005, 12:40 PM
It doesnt seem weak at all....thats an auto muck.

If he wants to bet over 2X the pot on a bluff out of position no less; let him........hell be broke soon enough.

DWarrior
04-09-2005, 12:46 PM
I'm not an expert, but I'd have done the same thing. If he bet something less, I could understand, but the risk/reward in your case doesn't seem worth it. If he's trully a bad player and stuck around with KJ or something to your $2 bet and now overbet the pot when he paired, I'm sure you'll get him soon enough.

swolfe
04-09-2005, 12:57 PM
pretty weak. your check on the turn after betting the flop could have induced a bluff from a Q or a naked K or any other garbage.

zaxx19
04-09-2005, 12:59 PM
A bluff of 2.5X the pot? /images/graemlins/confused.gif

DWarrior
04-09-2005, 01:02 PM
I don't know if 100NL tables are capable of having a bluff induced, quite honestly.

EDIT: I think it's much more likely that, at these stakes, someone would be inclined to slowplay with even the weakest of flushes. I think that for every time someone bluffs like this, there'd be 10 situations where they're slowplaying a hand.