PDA

View Full Version : Pot Odds VS Outs

texasholdemnut
04-08-2005, 01:29 PM
I started playing a 3-6 live game about 6 weeks ago, I have played online for a few years, and have done reasonably well online, but I am struggling in the live game. I have read over and over about pot odds and making your outs, and the math still goes way over my head, even though math was one of my best subjects in school, 48 million years ago..LOL..anyway, I have figured out that the game I'm in is passive, the pots are big, lots of callers with any two cards, but my AK suited gets taken out everytime by some chump with J2 that shouldn't even be in the hand. Is there any easy way to count the odds quickly without having to have a masters degree from MIT?? I guess I'm just looking for a simpler way to do it.

deacsoft
04-08-2005, 02:06 PM
I think this article by Lou Krieger is exactly what you need. I hope it helps.

Pot Odds Made Easy (http://www.cardplayer.com/poker_magazine/archives/?a_id=13913&m_id=88)

texasholdemnut
04-08-2005, 02:49 PM
Thanks, I think the chart will help. It seems like such a huge math problem to be soved in a very short time, especially in a limit game where the chips are flying.

SheridanCat
04-08-2005, 04:51 PM
Well, let's run the problem real quick and see what happens.

The flop has just come, and you're in late position. There are a number of players in, say 6 for two bets each. You raised and the limpers called, the SB folded and the BB called. 12 bets in the pot (.5 bets were lost to the rake).

BB Opponent: ?? - after the flop he bets out and you put him on top pair with mediocre kicker taking a stab at the large pot.

Weirdly everyone folds to you holding A/images/graemlins/heart.gifK/images/graemlins/heart.gif

Flop: T/images/graemlins/heart.gif6/images/graemlins/heart.gifJ/images/graemlins/spade.gif