PDA

View Full Version : To push or not to push (2 hands)

suited_ace
04-06-2005, 11:58 PM
I'm sorry for all the "should I push" posts, but this is the most significant effect of the small starting stacks at Party, and I just started playing there, so I'm trying to get better at it as fast as possible.

These two hands are from the same STT.

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t50 (7 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

BB (t1185)
UTG (t1075)
MP1 (t930)
Hero (t1520)
CO (t1670)
Button (t1075)
SB (t545)

Preflop: Hero is MP2 with A/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, K/images/graemlins/heart.gif.
<font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to t150</font>, <font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, <font color="#CC3333">SB raises to t250</font>, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to t1520 (All-In)</font>, SB calls t295 (All-In).

I'm pretty unhappy with this hand because I didn't think before pushing. I just went "I have AK, it's a push", never stopping to consider stack sizes, range of hands, nothing. I think the push was alright, though. The only thing I'm in doubt about is if a stop n' go can be a good idea in this spot, or even if folding was an option. What do you think?

I lost this hand to SB's JJ and went totally card dead.

The next hand is the last hand in the 50/100 level, and the Button had been raising a lot pre-flop. UTG was a very weak player, and his limp didn't worry me that much.

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t100 (5 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

Button (t2850)
SB (t665)
Hero (t625)
UTG (t655)
MP (t3205)

Preflop: Hero is BB with K/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 7/images/graemlins/spade.gif.