PDA

View Full Version : Playing out of my league PLHE

D.J.
10-24-2002, 11:12 PM
This hand is about 6 weeks old, but it still haunts me. I was playing in the 10-20 PLHE at commerce in LA, keep in mind the biggest PL game I had played in before this was 5-5, I just figured what the hell, I've been running good, let's see if I can make a score (this is the main problem with my game by the way, I try to play a lot higher than my bankroll permits). Anyway, here's the scenario, for the first time since I started playing poker, I sit down at this table and feel like a fish, I mean all these guys are damn good or they at least appear to be. I sit down with 2K and play air tight for the first hour or so and then pick up 99 in the sb with 2.4K. A guy in mp raises, button re-raises, and I call with 99 in the worst position, I know I probably should have mucked pre-flop, but the mp guy, I didn't trust him farther than I could throw him and the button guy has played a variety of hands both good and bad, so I didn't know where to put him. So, I call, mp calls and the flop come 9-3-3 and I almost sh*t myself. I check, mp bets the pot, button raises the pot, I raised at this point, all hell was breaking loose, call,call. Turn 7, I bet the pot, mp raises the pot, button calls, and I'm thinking oh sh*t somebody has 3-3, I call. River Q, by this point I just check, mp bets the pot, button raises the pot, I call all-in as does mp. Ready for the showdown? Button proudly turns over QQ, and mp slams down in disgust his A-3 and complains about his bad beat, I don't even show. That was a pretty sick and expensive beat for me, and I haven't played PL since. I really don't know how the button called with all that heat, but he did and hit his miracle card. I know that my pre-flop call was questionable but I had my reasons of doubt about the players I was up against. Just sucked to be me at that moment. Comments please, and advice welcome.

-D.J. /forums/images/icons/smirk.gif

Jeffage