PDA

View Full Version : Start with ring games or sng?

TimLL
04-06-2005, 08:48 AM
I'm still quite new to the Texas hold'em, just finished Lee Jones book and get the basic concepts down. One of the toughest problem I have is to learn how to read what type of players I'm facing with.(loose/tight/manicacs etc)

Is especially hard playing low limit games online, when players will come and go every 3 or 4 hands.

Would it be better if i start learning to play the game thru $5 sng? That way I'm playing with the same players for at least an hour and get to understand their style. Plus i seem to like sng better, compare to ring games which require a lot of patience.

Hope this is not a stupid question, any comments'd be appreciated.

splashpot
04-06-2005, 09:52 AM
It depends on your preference. Both types of games are easily beatable. But if your reason for playing sngs is to read player types, it won't work. The blinds stucture of online sngs is so wild that it is correct to constantly be changing your playing style. I forget who said it, but the best way to describe correct play in Party sngs went something like this: "Your play should start as the Rock of Gibralter and switch to kamikaze pilot." So it's next to impossible to categorize players.

the_joker
04-06-2005, 01:26 PM
If you can beat the SNG's as a beginner then great, play those since you like them better. I like SNG's better as well, but I am making more money at ring. I was basically breaking even at SNG's and was having trouble building a bankroll. Now I am thinking of taking a crack a SNG's again since I have more experience. I think as a beginner you may need to balance building your bankroll with fun. Good luck!

deacsoft
04-06-2005, 02:22 PM