PDA

View Full Version : So I want a credit card

shadow29
04-04-2005, 06:50 PM
I'm a student, so I expect to have a higher rate than normal people.

All of my income comes from poker (albeit, not very much income quantitatively). Therefore, all my deposits into checking are from NETeller.

Will this affect my credit card application? I have no credit history (except for said checking account, the balance of which fluctuates between $300 and $1000). I just want a credit card to pay my cell phone bill to start building credit.

Also, what's a good rate?

lu_hawk
04-04-2005, 06:56 PM
you really shouldn't be worrying about what rate you get because you should be paying it off every month. having credit card debt absent some sort of emergency that requires it is one of the more bonehead financial moves you can make.

ArchAngel71857
04-04-2005, 07:15 PM
with no credit history, you may have a hard time choosing your company. but if you can, get hilton honors, or mariott rewards, or something where you get points you can use on hotels/plane tickets, etc. my girlfriend has an nonors card and she had to travel twice a month for work. so she payed her hotel and plane ticket, got reimbursed form work and basically racked up free points which we would use for weekend trips.

All that said, if you have student loans, pay them off. it will help your credit rating. and only get one credit card.

-AA

Bukem_
04-04-2005, 07:22 PM
By very careful when getting cards with points/rewards. The vast majority of users end up paying far more in extra fees than they get in rewards.

Voltron87
04-04-2005, 07:25 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I'm a student, so I expect to have a higher rate than real people.

[/ QUOTE ]

fixed

27offsooot
04-04-2005, 07:45 PM
No idea if u'll be able to get one, but the AMEX blue card w/ cashback rocks. A friend of mine who is still in school was able to.

shadow29
04-04-2005, 07:57 PM
So the fact that all my money comes from poker won't affect anything?