PDA

View Full Version : any sales engineers or technical sales people out there?

ceyoung
04-04-2005, 03:44 PM
I have a degree in chemical engineering/materials science and i dont really feel like working in an oil refinery or a factory. So, I was looking into engineering sales...anyone have any good advice/experiences?

BruinEric
04-04-2005, 09:18 PM
Okay, here is a brief two cents. I formerly (for 12+ years) worked in an industry selling software to companies designing electronics such as semiconductors and circuit boards. The industry is different than yours but there are surely some parallels.

My degree is not technical, so I entered through the pure sales angle. I grew very technical in my field, and this was helpful.

Your best entry is to target companies where you believe your experience would help and seek out entry level "Sales Engineer" or "Post-Sales Engineer" or "Implementation Consultant" jobs.

In general this is a job where you will support the pre-sales effort (in my industry it was with demonstrations and benchmarks) or the post-sales effort (in my industry it was training and implementation).

Really big companies may have entry-level jobs that fit the bill for you. Small companies and distributors/resellers are perfect places to start as well. Mid-size, highly popular companies may not because they have the most talented from the 'other companies' who want to work there.

Compensation for engineers who assist the sales process is often higher than the engineers in R&D.

The most vital skill is to learn how to take a prospect's question and answer it truthfully BUT in a way that best suits your product/service. If the question directly hits a weakness of your product, you'll have to deflect the question skillfully.

Example:
"I've heard your GUI is very difficult to learn and navigate."

Answer: