PDA

View Full Version : Did something just Click?

ksuns
04-04-2005, 01:23 PM
I have been playing poker for about 9 months now and play online probably more than I should. Additionally, I read all Sklansky books and watched the Helmouth (spelling?)video. I used to play 3/6 and would lose all the time - well, i would win then kick it back, etc. About a week and a half ago I put in $120 and won about $300 in the 3/6 games and stepped it up to 5/10 and have been winning a lot of money (roughly $1600). Is this a fluke, or does becoming effective at poker eventually click? Please tell me your thoughts.

Also, everytime I read one of Sklansky's books, I learn a lot, but lose the next time I get on the computer. Therefore, I find reading this site and his books (which I picked up again yesterday) to be really bad luck. Am I the only one?

Onaflag
04-04-2005, 01:41 PM
No, you are not the only one. A lot of people go through this phase at the very beginning which is exactly where you're at. You'll laugh at this a year from now.

Now, before anything happens to your bankroll, STOP what you're doing and get the Hell away from 5/10. It is a fluke and flukes like this are not uncommon. It is how I got a starting bankroll.

I don't know if you have PokerTracker or not. If not, get it now. Today. While you still have money. Start reviewing your play comparing it against what you read. Compare your plays against plays here on the forums. Ask specific questions and ponder the replies carefully.

Other opinions may differ, but I say get a grip on your game before you lose your roll. I would single table 2/4 right now until you get better. Others may suggest going even lower which actually may be better. Trust me on one thing.......you got lucky and that is good. Now do the right thing and learn how to build on it, not lose it.

Onaflag..........

ksuns
04-04-2005, 01:47 PM