PDA

View Full Version : Don't you consider opponents cards in estimating odds?

Wozza
04-03-2005, 05:18 AM
Rank newbie here - hell, it's only my second post...

Been reading up on calculating, for example, the odds of hittng a flush on the turn if you hold 2 spades and the flop drops another 2. Most of what I've read says that there are then 9 further spades available and you start the calcs based on that assumption.

But say there are 7 players, when the turn hits there are 20 cards out. On average, that means that 5 spades have been dealt (20/53 x 13). You've got 2, the flop's got 2 which means that one of the bad guys has also got one and the number of outs should be 8 not 9.

OK, it's not a huge difference, but shouldn't you consider what everyone else is holding when considering outs?

PairTheBoard
04-03-2005, 05:55 AM
No.

PairTheBoard

Mike Haven
04-03-2005, 08:27 AM
But say there are 7 players, when the turn hits there are 20 cards out. On average, that means that 5 spades have been dealt (20/53 x 13). You've got 2, the flop's got 2 which means that one of the bad guys has also got one and the number of outs should be 8 not 9.

I'll just rewrite this slightly, to help me with my explanation:

"But say there are 8 players, when the flop hits there are 19 cards out. On average, that means that 4.75 spades have been dealt (19/52 x 13). You've got 2, the flop's got 2 which means that one of the bad guys has also got one and the number of outs should be 8 not 9."

No.

Yes: before the 19 cards are dealt the chances are that (19/52) x 13 = 4.75 of them will be spades.

However, once they are dealt, just because you have seen five cards and four of them happen to be spades doesn't mean 0.75 spades are in the 14 unseen cards.

On the other hand, what you could say is that in the other players' 14 unseen cards there are [14/(52-5)] x 9 = (14/47) x 9 = 2.681 spades.

Then you could say that the chances of a spade falling on the turn are