PDA

View Full Version : Calculating combanatorials on a calculator?

twosneverlose
04-01-2005, 08:06 PM
I'm fairly new to the mathematics of poker and have been seeing 50 C 2 for example alot, I realize now what this mean but how is it that you figure the total combinations. One post i have seen said to use a scientfic calculator. I have a Ti-89, Ti-81, and a Ti-30xa, but can not figure out how to do it on these. Is it possible? or what model of calculator do i need?

gaming_mouse
04-01-2005, 08:10 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I'm fairly new to the mathematics of poker and have been seeing 50 C 2 for example alot, I realize now what this mean but how is it that you figure the total combinations. One post i have seen said to use a scientfic calculator. I have a Ti-89, Ti-81, and a Ti-30xa, but can not figure out how to do it on these. Is it possible? or what model of calculator do i need?

[/ QUOTE ]

I'm sure there is a way to do this on the calculators you mentioned, but you'd have to get the manual.

Google can also do it.

Try typing in:

50 choose 2

or

7!

CrazyN8
04-01-2005, 08:51 PM
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

I'm sure there is a way to do this on the calculators you mentioned, but you'd have to get the manual.

Google can also do it.

Try typing in:

50 choose 2

or

7!

[/ QUOTE ]

wow, that's pretty sweet! Learn something new everyday.

BruceZ
04-01-2005, 08:54 PM
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

If you don't have a key for C(n,k), but you have a factorial key (labeled !), then you can compute C(n,k) as n!/k!/(n-k)!. For example, C(50,2) = 50!/2!/48!.

Oblivious
04-02-2005, 06:20 AM