PDA

View Full Version : To Howard and Paul: A Backing Request!

Vince Lepore
04-01-2005, 07:13 PM
Dear Paul and Howard,

I am desperate! The Bellagio Third Annual Five Star Event begins Next Week! I need you! I am a broke Poker Pro. I need backing in these tournaments. You are the only two people in this whole world that I feel I can approach with this request. We have never met, that is true. But I have been a big fan of each of you ever since the beginning of the WPT. I have followed both of your careers with keen interest and have wondered at your tremendous consistent play and accomplishments. You two are, in my humble opinion, simply the best.

My research has shown you two to be open, honest and caring men. Men of character worthy of all of the admiration that many here and on other poker discussion groups have showered upon you. Others have told me that you both are generous kind fellows that are always “there” to help a fellow poker pro.

I am that poker pro that needs help. Let me tell you a little about why you should back me.
1) Mason Malmuth is a buddy of mine. Yes, the Mason Malmuth. I would ask Mason to back me but he’s been too busy editing a Sklansky manuscript to return my calls. At least that’s what his wife tells me when I call. I have no reason to believe otherwise since we are best friends and I don’t have any reason to think he would avoid me
2) David Sklansky talks to me once in a while in the sports book at the Bellagio. Well, actually he stares at me and laughs. I know this doesn’t sound like much but anyone that knows David knows that he doesn’t find a lot of things funny enough to laugh at. Well, at least not in the sports book. I would ask David but he never stops laughing long enough for me to get a word in edge wise.
3) I once met and shook hands with James Woods. He’s a poker player now you know. So by shaking my hand one could imply that he respected my play. Don’t you think?