PDA

View Full Version : Check my math? (bit of a read, but might be interesting)

string4
04-01-2005, 01:33 PM
Hi. Quasi-newbie here, trying to learn more about figuring out this amazing skill and how to think like a winning poker player. Inspired by a couple of recent posts, I was wondering about whether it would be a positive or negative edge to always raise preflop w/ low pocket pairs. I know you experts know this immediately, but I wanted to see if my dusty math skills could be used to figure out the answer myself, so that I could also figure out other questions in the future on my own...

So, I wanted to post my analysis of this and ask: not just for the answer to whether it is wise or not to always raise pocket pairs if you are going to play them at all for some unknown reason, but is the course of this analysis accurate, and could I use this same kind of thing to figure out other hands, or are there too many variables that I'm not taking into account - making this system of figuring too inaccurate to use?

Regarding the pocket pairs: According to ITH, you are able to hit a set when holding low pocket pairs 1 in 7.5 times. This means that given 100 hands, you would hit a set 13.3 times, and wind up w/ a low pair 86.7 times.

WHEN YOU HIT THE SET: Even when you hit the set, we know that does not guarantee a win. On average in my tiny 5k hand database I win about 78% of the time when I flop a set w/ low pockets. I have weighed this average to a conservative 70% for estimation purposes, since I have so few results to go by. So, of this 13.3 hands out of 100 that you hit a set, I am figuring you will win the pot 70% of the time, or 9.3 times out of 100, and lose 3 times. Averaging my mini DB wins/losses on these type of hands, I average +7 BB on set wins, and average - 3.5 BB on losses (rounded off). So, when I hit my set and win over 100 hands, I will win 65.17 BB, and lose 10.5 bets, for a profit of 54.67 BB over 100 hands.