PDA

View Full Version : Should I have check-raised the flop?

doubleplus
04-01-2005, 03:58 AM
I hope this hand history thing works... this is my first time posting a hand:

PokerStars 0.25/0.50 Hold'em (9 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

Preflop: Hero is UTG with Q/images/graemlins/spade.gif, A/images/graemlins/diamond.gif.
<font color="#CC3333">Hero raises</font>, <font color="#666666">3 folds</font>, MP3 calls, CO calls, Button calls, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, BB calls.

Flop: (10.40 SB) 7/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, A/images/graemlins/spade.gif, T/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="#0000FF">(5 players)</font>
BB checks, <font color="#CC3333">Hero bets</font>, MP3 calls, CO folds, Button calls, BB calls.

Turn: (7.20 BB) 3/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="#0000FF">(4 players)</font>
BB checks, <font color="#CC3333">Hero bets</font>, MP3 calls, Button calls, BB folds.

River: (10.20 BB) 7/images/graemlins/club.gif <font color="#0000FF">(3 players)</font>

Final Pot: 10.20 BB

Russ McGinley
04-01-2005, 04:01 AM
No. What guarantees do you have that someone will bet? Zero. The board is somewhat coordinated, checking here is awful.

Elbie
04-01-2005, 04:39 AM
Quote: No. What guarantees do you have that someone will
bet? Zero. The board is somewhat coordinated,
checking here is awful.

doubleplus
04-01-2005, 04:45 AM
Thank you. It didn't get through to me the first time.

NAU_Player
04-01-2005, 04:55 AM
Checkraising is best suited for 2 things:
1.information
2.to get opponents to fold

Given the fact that all of your opponents coldcalled preflop, it's pretty safe to assume you are ahead - no need for info
Given that you can reasonably assume your hand is good, why do you want your opponents to fold?