PDA

View Full Version : taking the LSAT

goofball
03-31-2005, 04:20 AM
So when I'm not playing poker lately I'm playing video games. That's all well and good but I decided to take the LSAT. Why? Partially because it's there, partially because I just want to, partially because if I did exorbitantly well I might go to law school.

What books are good to study from? Any other advice?

ilya
03-31-2005, 04:22 AM
the Kaplan book is pretty good. just be smart, it's not hard.

b0000000000m
03-31-2005, 04:26 AM
The kaplan book sucks. Kaplan, in general, is geared towards improving people with crappy scores to "ok" scores. Not good -> great, or great->amazing. And the tests that they themselves create are a sorry substitute for the real thing. Just buy a bunch of old, REAL LSATs, and take them under real conditions to prepare.

goofball
03-31-2005, 04:31 AM
right. I'm not looking to get a 160 or 165. I'm looking to get a 180. I did extremely well on the GREs, I got my degree in physics, I definetly don't want the kind of book that moves you from "marginal" to "acceptable"

ilya
03-31-2005, 04:38 AM
[ QUOTE ]
The kaplan book sucks. Kaplan, in general, is geared towards improving people with crappy scores to "ok" scores. Not good -> great, or great->amazing. And the tests that they themselves create are a sorry substitute for the real thing. Just buy a bunch of old, REAL LSATs, and take them under real conditions to prepare.

[/ QUOTE ]

maybe that's true, but my anecdotal evidence says otherwise. my friend took a Kaplan course and went from a sub-160 score on his diagnostic to a 177 on the real thing. he's now at stanford law.
small sample, i know.
i agree, old LSATs are a good study tool.

ilya
03-31-2005, 04:42 AM
[ QUOTE ]
right. I'm not looking to get a 160 or 165. I'm looking to get a 180. I did extremely well on the GREs, I got my degree in physics, I definetly don't want the kind of book that moves you from "marginal" to "acceptable"

[/ QUOTE ]