PDA

View Full Version : Stock my bar

Inthacup
03-30-2005, 11:42 PM
I have very little experience with liquor. Most liquor I've had has been in the form of mixed drinks. Also, it's mostly been low-end stuff. I'm willing to spend about $500 to stock my bar(or at least get started). I want to get a few brands of each type of liquor. At this point, assume I don't want to spend more than $50 on a bottle, but anything under that is fine.

This liquor will be used for occasional drinking. I want to buy some nicer brands. My goal is to develop my palate and experiment with some stuff I've never tried before. Assume I'm a complete novice.

Cup

pshreck
03-30-2005, 11:43 PM
This specific thread has been done before.

mason55
03-30-2005, 11:50 PM
Gin:
Bombay Sapphire for a nice clean gin
Tanqueray No. 10 for a fruity gin
Both are excellent

Vodka:
Stolichnaya Original
Any flavors you feel you need. My favorite is the black cherry (I can't even remember who makes it, it's a white bottle)

Whiskey:
Jack Daniels for a nice bourbon
Macallan's 12 yr. for a good single malt scotch

Tequila:
Patron Gold
Patron Silver

Others I like (choose by what you like/want):
Malibu Original
Hypnotiq
Blue Curaçao
Rumpleminz
Jagermeister
Generic Irish Cream Liquer
Generic Kaluah
Schnapps in whatever flavor you want (i like berry flavors)

These aren't necessarily the BEST price:taste performance, but people you invite over are going to want things like JD and everything on this list will be extremely easy to find.

goofball
03-30-2005, 11:51 PM
Johnnie Walker Black label
Sauza Hornitos Tequila
Absolut or Stolichnaya Vodka
Tanqueray Gin
I don't really know rum.
Various liquers and such: Cointreau, Kahlua, Bailey's, Frangelico

Inthacup
03-30-2005, 11:52 PM
found it. thanks.

mason55
03-30-2005, 11:55 PM