PDA

View Full Version : SSH not for a beginner

scott111
03-30-2005, 11:55 AM
I started playing limit hold'em on-line 2 months ago. The first books I read were Hold'em Poker by Skanlsky, then straight into SSH. I'm now suspecting that was a mistake, as many posters here indicate that it's a bit dangerous in the hands of beginners. I also read Theory of Poker.

I'm not doing bad, I usually only breaking even on the 50 cent tables at UB. I have a solid grasp of preflop, it's simple enough, but I get into trouble after that. Getting aggressive at the wrong time is the big one, raising the pot at the wrong time. I tend to lose much more than I win with AA or KK because I feel invincible. And losing big pots to the bigger flush is common.

I'm sure I only have part of the picture from SSH, if I had it all I would be winning!! My main question here is this: Should I continue to try to master the techniques in SSH, or should I take a step back try a different book first?

Chris Dow
03-30-2005, 11:57 AM
My advice to you is keep working inside of the 2+2 family of books. They are not easy but they are complete and accurate. I was teh suck before 2+2. Just look at me now...

Read and reread. Think a lot. Reread again.

KaiShin
03-30-2005, 11:57 AM
The other often recommended book for beginners is Winning Low Limit Hold 'Em by Lee Jones. Give that one a shot then go back to SSH.

mr pink
03-30-2005, 11:59 AM
SSH is the best book out there for the games you are playing. post hands in the micros that you're not sure of, or think you misplayed and ask for advice. comment on how you think others should have played a hand, ask advice, accept criticism in a positive and constructive way in order to improve your game. work hard at it and stay positive and you'll do fine.

good luck

- pink

ckessel
03-30-2005, 12:16 PM
In short, I'd step back and come at SSH again from a scenic route.