PDA

View Full Version : Ready to go...

Shang Chou
03-30-2005, 08:24 AM
Not sure if this is the right forum for this kinda post, but would love to get people's opinions and input.

Over the past 6 months or so I had been playing poker recreationally with a 2000 dollar bankroll. I am a college student at MIT so this is a decent amount of money for a kid my age. At one point my bankroll was at a little over 4K, but I took 2K out and bought myself a Powerbook and some other crap(coke, hookers, booze, etc).

The stakes I played where anywhere from 2/4 to 15/30 on Party and when I made the occasional foray to Foxwoods, I played 10/20 or 5/10 kill. Also, played in a variety of homegames such as 2/5 blind NL games with a 4-500 buy in or 1/2 blind NL games. Most of my profits came from playing online and I have had a couple 400+ losses at a NL home game which resulted in me coming home and playing 10/20 6 max on Party, determined to make it back.

The 2K bankroll started off as 100 dollars on Party poker and I built that up playing 1/2 and slowly working my way up. I remember the day my acount was finally at 1K and I let myself play some 2/4. In retrospect, I took a very cautious route, partly because I have blown entire bankrolls in one day before and know how crappy it feels.

To make a long story short, over the past month and a half or so I have managed to lose it all. I know exactly why I lost: playing above my bankroll and tilt. This is not the first time I have done this. When you have 2K to play with, its usually not wise to sit with half of it on a table. I remember one night playing 2/5 blind NL and I took a bad beat losing AA to KK for 1000+. Because I was playing in over my head, I was unable to get rid of the tilt and always had the feeling that I was playing to win it back.