PDA

View Full Version : New to pot limit: Quads played bad

rigoletto
10-17-2002, 01:13 PM
I'm new to pot limit and believe i missed some bets on this hand:

LL online. Table is tight after the flop. I,m dealt red 4'rs LP. UTG+1 calls, I call, SB completes and BB checks.

*** FLOP *** [Qd Js 4s]

BB bets minimum, UTG+1 raises minimum, I just call (mistake?), SB folds and BB calls

*** TURN *** [Qd Js 4s] [4d]

I now have quads /forums/images/icons/laugh.gif . BB folds (timeout), heads up, UTG+1 bets about ½ the pot, again I just call for fear of UTG folding.

*** RIVER *** [Qd Js 4s 4d] [8h]

UTG+1 bets about a 1/4 pot, I raise ½ a pot, he calls and mucks.

I feel I played this horribly. Should have raised the flop and bet ½ pot on the turn? Any comments welcome and also pointers to material about pot limit.

Greg (FossilMan)
10-17-2002, 01:30 PM
There are reasons to slow-play and reasons to fast-play. Here are some that are relevant to this hand.

In terms of playing fast, it seems less likely this guy is bluffing, as that is a tough board to bluff. Many hands that usually get played like this flop at least a little bit. So, if he isn't bluffing, then you can raise and often get called. And, if they have a draw and fold, on the flop at least, that's just fine for your hand.

Another reason to play fast is that a card can come that will kill your action. In this case, the 8 on the river made a straight if you were playing T9. If I had AQ and was pushing top pair, top kicker, the 8 on the river might convince me to give it up, or at least give it up without putting too much more money in the pot. Similarly, any 9, T, J, K, or A is a scare card for me, as well as any spade. In that situation, by waiting to the river, you might lose me when a scare card hits.

Similarly, if I'm on the draw, such as T9 or KT or spades, I will fold the river if I miss. However, I might have put in more money to try and make my draw if you had raised the turn.