PDA

View Full Version : somebody post a puzzle already

mostsmooth
03-29-2005, 12:43 PM
preferably a logic heavy puzzle as im not too good with any type of advanced math
thanks
work svcks
that is all

beerbandit
03-29-2005, 01:01 PM
There are one thousand lockers and one thousand students in the school. The principal asks the first student to go to every locker and open it. Then he has the second student go to every second locker and close it. The third goes to every third locker and, if it is closed, he opens it, and if it is open, he closes it. The fourth student does this to every fourth locker, and so on. After the process is completed with the thousandth student, how many lockers are open?

cheers

chaas4747
03-29-2005, 01:10 PM
Not going to come up with total answer, but here is how you do it in white

<font color="white">Number of perfect squares between 1 and 1000 </font>

jason_t
03-29-2005, 01:14 PM
Results in white below:
<font color="white">Label the lockers 1, 2, 3, etc. A locker will be open if and only if its label is has an odd number of divisors. Only the perfect squares have an odd number of divsors (every divisor of a non-square n is paired with a different divisor of n) so the only lockers that will be open are labeled with perfect squares. The answer is thus the number of perfect squares between 1 and 1000, inclusive.</font>

mostsmooth
03-29-2005, 01:30 PM
wouldnt that be 31? or is that too easy?

DMBFan23
03-29-2005, 01:33 PM
<font class="small">Code:</font><hr /><pre> Dim i As Integer 'i will be the ith door that student n is currently on
Dim n As Integer 'n will be the student currently opening doors

n = 1
i = 1

Dim doorindex As Long

For n = 1 To 1000
For i = 1 To 1000
doorindex = i * n
If doorindex &lt;= 1000 Then

If wksht.Cells(n * i, 1) = "c" Then
'open it
wksht.Cells(n * i, 1) = "o"
Else
'close it
wksht.Cells(n * i, 1) = "c"
End If
Else
GoTo nextkid
End If
Next
nextkid:
Next </pre><hr />

gives 31 doors, all the squares.

jason_t