PDA

View Full Version : On Improving

Nacarno
03-26-2005, 09:05 PM
I started playing poker online maybe 2 years ago and got pretty serious about it maybe only a year ago. A good part of what got me thinking seriously about poker was these forums. As you all know, if you look around there's a wealth of information on these boards just waiting to be utilized by those who take the time to seek it out. My game improved leaps and bounds by studying and practicing the advice of the users of 2+2 but then something funny happened. I felt like I hit a wall. I know I was still improving just from experience but there would be times when I felt like I was actively hindering my game by following some of the advice that had previously proved so useful. For example, making a continuation bet with a weak pair on the flop only to get called and then having a blank come on the turn. Conventional wisdom might say to slow down against the opponent since he was representing a stronger hand by calling and I would dutifully do just that even though at times every instinct in my body would scream out that the guy was weak and would fold to another bet. I was still winning, but I felt like I wasn't taking every opportunity I could to improve my ROI and the like. In short I felt like my game had been reduced to a series of robotic actions where there was always a right and wrong move given the pot size and betting progression and instincts be damned!