PDA

View Full Version : Anyone have bankroll progress that makes any sense?

gulebjorn
03-26-2005, 06:24 PM
I've been playing online poker (real money) for about three months now. In the first 6 weeks, i took my BR from 10$ to 1100$. The next 6 weeks, i was breaking even and losing until today, when i started the day with 700$. And made 500$ in 8 hrs...

Before i started this, i imagined a bankroll steadily increasing, with some variance, sure, but steadily upward. I suppose everybody deals with these periods of breaking even or losing, so here's a question:

how do you deal with those times? do you start questioning your play? should you change your way of playing? What's your weirdest bankroll fluctuation or stagnation?

What bankroll size would you recommend for acceptable variance (let's say +- 30% of BR)? I play 0.50-1$ NL at interpoker because of the monthly bonus and that's their lowest limit, so i can't drop down... I know 300-500 x BB is recommended for limit... u guys use the same rule for NL?

sawseech
03-26-2005, 06:42 PM
steadily upwards over infinite time
when i run hot i win a stack/hour on the hour
think about what's going on the rest of the time

BiggieH68
03-26-2005, 08:11 PM
Hi BearHustler,

I did a search the other day in regards to you question
regarding the size of ones bankroll to play at a given
nl level.

I'm not sure that the 300-500x the BB can apply to NL
as it does limit. The post I found suggested having
20-30x the max buyin for the game your playing. This
seems to make alot more sense in that you have greater
fluctuations in a nl game.

I currently play the $25nl tables on Empire and started
with $125 three weeks ago. I have now gotten that up
to over $500 playing the 6max games. After investing
in pokertracker (tremendous help!) I am finding that
I am experiencing more winning then losing sessions.

I've been playing online for just over a year now and
one of the more important lessons I have learned is that by