PDA

View Full Version : I know you've felt this

Effin_River1980
03-26-2005, 03:05 AM
Hi all, as you probably guessed from my previous post, I am a newbie here, but very excited in learning some insightful information. A little about myself: I am relatively new at Hold'em, having clocked in a little more than sixty hours (althought much more online play), and having only played for one year. Yet as a recent college grad, I have taken a students path in undertaking this journey, reading about five books now, plenty of conversation with others.
Currently I am reading John Feeney's "Inside the Poker Mind" (highly recommended), which has caused me to reassess my current strategic thinking.
My current concern involves chasers. Lately I have been consistently been outdrawn when I feel as though I had the best hand. Mike Caro tells us to embrace these chasers, for in the long run they will lose and I will win (a solemn consolation when losing). Then I read a posting by the late Andy Morton on rec.gambling about "schooling" and implicit collusion, and the idea that an increasing number of chasers will actually reduce profit after a certain number (e.g. one person chasing a straight, one a flush, and a third chasing his pair of fours, all the while you hold AK with top pair). His theorem validated what so many of us have felt at low limit ($3/6 for me) poker, and yet I am trying to figure out the best way to combat this kind of table. A relatively passive table, where one can limp in or call on one raise preflop; one where there are usually three to the river or more, with chasers all the way.