PDA

View Full Version : Don't forget to read!!!

JoeBoo
03-25-2005, 11:55 PM
Don't forget to re-read SSH if you find yourself in the middle of a downswing. I started playing before I found 2+2, played .5/1, 1/2, and even sat down at 2/4 with my last $56 of my $100 bankroll. I held my own and even won at 2/4 (1 session catching great cards at the jackpot tables at Party). Then I found 2+2 and read SSH. Before that I had no idea about the proper bankroll or downswings. I stopped playing until I read SSH 3 times and then started again at Party .5/1. Since I returned I have been beating that game for >4BB/100 over 5000 hands with no significant downswings. I recently decided to start bonus whoring at Paradise with a $200 deposit. While playing .5/1 at Paradise I noticed a couple of things...first Party is really the promised land as far as table selection and quality of players go. Even so, through the first 500 raked hands at Paradise (1/2 the bonus) I was killing that game too, up $70 plus the $50 I had cleared of the $100 bonus. Then my first real downswing hit, within 2 days I had lost my $70 in winnings and more, I ended up clearing the bonus with a $91 profit...of a possible $100 in bonus money...no profit from playing. I then deposited $500 at Empire to get the $100 signup bonus and it seems my bad run has followed me there, after two days I'm down a little but playing scared. That's when I decided to go back and re-read SSH. I can't believe what a pussy I have been playing like since this bad run set in. Post flop I have lost all my aggression, especially from the turn on. My re-reading of SSH has been a real eye opener and I am very confident that I will be able to turn things around, (but I really have not been even seeing any cards worth playing...but this happens).