PDA

View Full Version : Taking a beating with small pocket pairs....part 1

droolie
03-23-2005, 12:53 PM
Hi. This is my first post in this forum. Sorry if this is too basic but I really need some advice...

I'm new to Party's 1/2 six max. About 2 months ago I played a few thousand hands at Absolutes .50/1 and had very good results. I was able to run over the loose passive players there with good aggression. This has not worked so well at party 6-max so far and am taking a bit of a beating. I don't seem to be able to fold enough HU (W$ASD 42% through 1700 hands) I know I have taken some unbelieveble bad beats in my very small smaple size that could easily have turned my red numbers to black but I just feel lost too much for my own comfort. I specifically feel lost HU. This is a problem because I do many isolation raises. I'm very comfortable in these situations in the full ring game but the increased aggression at 6-max has me out of sorts. I'm becoming a sherrif and not trusting my reads calling down with bottom pair or A high... It's like I think everyone is bluffing. Conversly I take my overcard bluffs way too far and get called down with bottom pair all the time.

This is a hand where I folded the river but probably I shouldn't have...

Hero is VP$IP 23% with a pfr 15% aggregate postflop aggro around 2ish (too low? way too low?? if so what streets specifically need to be higher. All three of mine hover at 2ish with the flop slightly higher)

The villian in this hand was had identical VP$IP and pfr of 25% through 50 hands or so. I decided to isolate raise hoping he was raising light.... Is this too weak of a hand to do this with? I probably would have done this with pocket 2's /images/graemlins/blush.gif (I'm taking a beating with pocket 77's too. part 2 to come)

Party Poker 1/2 Hold'em (6 max, 6 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

Preflop: Hero is CO with 5/images/graemlins/club.gif, 5/images/graemlins/spade.gif.