PDA

View Full Version : Poker Earnings and College Financial Aid (long)

pacman544
03-22-2005, 07:11 AM
I have been playing poker for two and a half years. It has been my main source of income for a year and a half and I have been a professional for 5 months. i dropped out of college a year and a half ago and I am now looking to reapply.
I began filling out the college Profile for financial aid. I ecountered a number of problems. I am fairly new to be being a professional and dont have enough experience to accurately dtermine how much I would make a year or if it is possible for me to be sucessful in the long term. I have bounced around from various live games, sngs, online limit and no limit holdem, online pl omaha. I also often underestimate my live game income because I dont have a defined bankroll and often use the same money for living expense. That is simply cured but a problem when estimating yearly income.
I alos have numerous problems related to school. My playing time will decline while i am in school and the fin aid profile asks for next years expected income. I am also will be going to school in NYC cutting into my live game play.I also left school due to depression and trying to explain that all this "other income" in taxible terms comes from being a pro poker player is not the best statement for reapplication.
Any response is appreciated.

srw5n
03-22-2005, 09:02 AM
Pacman-
I have a couple thoughts but no answers:
1. For financial aid purposes I'd zero out your expected income. Obviously you plan to continue playing, but if you don't there is obviously no benefit in stating you expect to earn X dollars.
2. If you really plan to continue as a "professional" you need to keep records. Start simple with running total of your bankroll and your results after each session (while noting limits and location). This is going to be enough for tax purposes and will give you a ball park of:
a. your hourly return
b. games your EV+ at
c. sustainable income