PDA

View Full Version : Early chip leaders in MTT's--how?

JGlo
03-21-2005, 09:58 PM
Forgive me if this is a newbie type question, but I want some theories on something in MTT's that I have yet to figure out. I have been playing online for about 9 months and have had some success at the MTT's. The best I have finished is 4th in an 860 man $5 tourney on PokerRoom and various other times have placed in the money. I have always read and taken the advice that in the MTT's, you try to survive, play tight the first several rounds and then loosen up your play later on.

What amazes me is that (at least in the $5 and $10 MTT's) every time, after about 30 minutes, several people already have anywhere from $8,000 to $10,000 in chips, and we usually start with 800 or 1000.

The question probably shows my inexperience, but I would like to know what they are doing. Are they taking several longshot all-in chances because of the low buy-ins, are they getting lucky, are they just that much better than everyone else? Is it like this in the $100 and up MTT's? Just curious to the different opinions. Thank you for any response. /images/graemlins/grin.gif

wegs the wegs
03-21-2005, 10:16 PM
They are the luckiest player at the loosest table. These are the players that typically go all-in frequently and just seem to hit everything. Very very rarely are these skillful players. Make a mental note of their name next time you see this in a tournament. Check back in when it gets to the money. More often than not they will not be there.

krabby5
03-21-2005, 10:25 PM
At the earliest levels, when I get AA or KK, I may just go all in preflop...some idiot usually calls with 10-10 or something like that....

But mostly it is luck...but I wouldn't say those people are not skilled...they just got the idiots money..

I remember one time I was 5th in chips out of about 200 at Pokerroom after the first break in a $5 multi...I kept getting action when I was flopping monsters...