PDA

View Full Version : Golf advice: Severe outside-in swing

otctrader
03-20-2005, 04:24 PM
Okay, golf season is around the corner in the Northeast and I want to actually make a bona fide effort to improve my game this year.

I've been playing for over 10 years but am plagued with a severe outside in/over the top swing. My divots are literally at a 45 degree angle pointing left of the target, no exaggeration.

Anyone have this same problem or know how to combat it? I can hit 1000 range balls and consciously try to fight it but it doesn't work.

JTG51
03-20-2005, 04:27 PM
Sometimes a mental image works better than a lot of technical mumbo jumbo.

Did you ever play baseball? Think about trying to line a single to the opposite field when you're swinging the golf club.

Evan
03-20-2005, 04:32 PM
Hit some balls with your feet angled to the right, so that they are pointing right of your target. This will make it harder to come over the top and it will let you feel what an on plane swing feels like because you won't be able to open your hips and shoulders as easily.

Cracker
03-20-2005, 04:48 PM
One thing you might try at the range is teeing the ball with
the stripe pointing slightly outward and try to hit the inside of the stripe.

mcb
03-20-2005, 05:22 PM