PDA

View Full Version : Help with late stage tournament play

RandomFluke
03-20-2005, 03:47 PM
Hi all. I'm kind of new to tournaments, but I have done very well in the sit n goes I've played so I decided to try some MTT and see how I'd do. Well to get my feet wet I played a $3+ rebuys satellite with the winner getting entry into the $350, 000 guaranteed tourney on pstars. Out of 756 players I remained in the top five for most of the tourney and finished second in chips. So with that confidence boost I decided to use the $200 to try some $11 rebuys instead of the 350k. the first $11 rebuy i busted out of. The second one though is why I'm writing this post. I stuck to my game plan, and though I took a number of bad beats I also managed to win my fair share of coin flips. I felt pretty good about my play and was in the top 5 out of 1224 players for most of the the 4 hours following the rebuy. during the rebuy period i actually did pretty poorly and ended the rebuy with just the chips i had bought + the add on.

But later in the tournament, when there were 40 players of 1224 left, and I was #3 out of 40, my game started to fall apart. The entire dynamic of the tournament changed, and while I felt that it had changed and could see it had changed I didnt have the time to adjust my strategy. I was starting to feel the pressure and with the huge blinds I wasnt sure what to do.

My problem was, where as before people respected my preflop raises and the somewhat tight but agressive image I had cultivated, every single time I made a preflop raise someone pushed in on me. Actually it wasn't just me, whether I made a bet that hand or not, someone was always all in preflop. Suddenly it had become coin flip after coin-flip and at the worst possible time I went card-dead. I had been card dead for periods before during the 5 hours of the tourney, but I had managed to still accumulate chips using my tight image and large stack to my advantage.